Question Time LIVE: Campbell kept on short leash by Fiona Bruce on day of drama

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The BBC political show follows Boris Johnson announcing his resignation this morning.

Mr Campbell, currently co-hosting popular podcast The Rest is Politics and known for his outspokenness, appears on the panel.

Replying to the former press secretary on Twitter, Rob Turner said: “As a fan of your podcast was hoping to hear more from yourself but felt you were on a bit of a short leash.

“That spoiled for me but otherwise some good things were asked by the punters.”

Follow below for more live updates on what is sure to be an explosive episode of the show.

Question Time lineup: Tim Stanley

Tim Stanley is a columnist for the Telegraph. 

His most recent column attacked Mr Johnson’s critics who have compared him to Donald Trump due to his unwillingness to step down as the country’s leader.

Tweeted after the PM’s resignation: “Disappointed in Boris ignoring his own democratic mandate by resigning.”

Question Time lineup: Alastair Campbell

Journalist Alistair Campbell is best known as Tony Blair’s former press secretary, and now co-hosts popular podcast The Rest is Politics with ex-Conservative MP Rory Stewart. 

A staunch remainer, Mr Campbell has been one of Boris Johnson’s most outspoken critics.

He has repeatedly branded the PM a liar and claimed he has done widespread damage to the British political system. 

Question Time lineup: Winston Marshall

Winston Marshall is the former banjo player and lead guitarist of folk rock band Mumford & Sons.

Mr Marshall quit the band after facing an online backlash for supporting Unmasked, a book decrying the leftist protest movement antifa.

He now runs a podcast at the Spectator about free speech in culture.

Question Time lineup: Bridget Phillipson MP

Bridget Phillipson is the Labour MP for Houghton and Sunderland South and Shadow Secretary of State for Education

Her opposite number, Michelle Donelan, resigned as Education Secretary just two days after being appointed to replace Nadhim Zahawi.

Recently attacked Tory MPs, saying: “They propped up Boris Johnson when he broke the law.

“They backed him as he lied to Parliament.

“They supported his government as it handed out dodgy PPE contracts to Tory Party donors.

“These resignations are not about principle, they are about leadership ambitions.”

Question Time lineup: Dehenna Davison MP

Dehenna Davidson is the Conservative MP for Bishop Auckland

Longstanding critic of Boris Johnson, including sending an open letter to 1922 Committee chairman Sir Graham Brady yesterday demanding a vote of no confidence in the PM. 

After he resigned, she said Mr Johnson had “finally done the right thing”.

When and where to watch BBC Question Time

Question Time begins at 10.55pm this evening. 

It can be watched on BBC One, or via BBC iPlayer. 

Source: Read Full Article