No coronavirus cases have been reported in the territories. Experts hope it stays that way

All 10 Canadian provinces have reported at least one case of the novel coronavirus, bringing the country’s total past 1,000 confirmed cases as of Friday.

So far, none of the three territories have reported a single case — and experts are hoping the situation stays that way.

The Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Yukon all declared public health emergencies this week and have instituted the same measures as the provinces, including closing schools, limiting travel and promoting social distancing.


Arctic governments said they were making the declarations in order to proactively mobilize resources and prepare for the possibility of cases.

“The challenges the territories have ahead of us in dealing with COVID-19 are very real,” N.W.T. Premier Caroline Cochrane told reporters Friday.

“Taking these steps now, before COVID-19 shows up in our territory, is the best thing we can do to lessen the impact it will have when it comes.”

The following day, the territory announced a ban on all non-essential travel.

Source: Read Full Article